Wednesday, 1 June 2016

Book Review | Promised Nights (Nights #2) by Louise Bay | #Contemporary #FriendsToLovers #Review @givemebooksblog @louisesbay

Title: Promised Nights
Series: Nights #2
Author: Louise Bay
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 Release Date: May 11, 2016


I’ve been in love with Luke Daniels since, well, forever. As his sister's best friend, I’ve spent over a decade living in the friend zone, watching from the sidelines hoping he would notice me, pick me, love me. 

I want the fairy tale and Luke is my Prince Charming. He’s tall, with shoulders so wide he blocks out the sun. He's kind with a smile so dazzling he makes me forget everything that’s wrong in the world. And he's only man that can make me laugh until my cheeks hurt and my stomach cramps. 

But he’ll never be mine. 

So I’ve decided to get on with my life and find the next best thing. 

Until a Wonder Woman costume, a bottle of tequila and a game of truth or dare happened. 

Then Luke's licking salt from my wrist and telling me I’m beautiful. 

Then he’s peeling off my clothes and pressing his lips all over my body. 

Then what? Is this the start of my happily ever after or the beginning of a tragedy? 

Previously released as "Calling Me: The Complete Series"

This is the second book in the Nights series but each can be read as a standalone.
Ash is Haven’s best friend and has been in love with her brother Luke for over fifteen years. But Luke has always only seen her as his sister’s best friend and his in recent years. He finds he can talk to Ash about anything and she is the first one he calls when he needs support. Ash finally comes to a decision that she needs to move on as she will never by anything but in the friend zone with Luke. Although she finds this hard to accept she makes steps to date other guys.

Luke has been living with his girlfriend Emma for a couple of years but when she gives him an ultimatum, this spurs him to dig deep and consider what he wants in his life and realises that life without Emma would be no hardship. Ever since the death of his parents he has always been loath to change, he doesn’t want to rock the boat and is happy to go along with what everyone else needs to keep them happy. But after some advice from his brother in law, Jake he takes steps to move on. When he needs to attend an awards do he turns to who he always turns to in need, Ash. But that night reveals something he wasn’t aware he was looking for but it is as if his eyes have been finally open to what was in front of him all the time. Ash, his Ashleigh.

This was a sweet tale of friends becoming lovers but there was lots and lots of angst and turbulence mainly brought on by Ash who at times had me swearing to the high heavens with her inability to see what she had always dreamt of was there for the taking. She just kept putting obstacles in the way due to her own insecurities. I could understand her backing off as if it didn’t work out with Luke then she could lose her ‘family’ of Haven and Luke.  However, once she realised she could not deny what she had with Luke, well that made for a happy sigh of contentment once all the angst was out of the way.

I really like this series and even though I have read it all backwards way around (book 3 then book 1 and finally onto this one, book 2) it was easy to fall into each love story. There was lots of passion and chemistry and I could really feel the connection between Ashleigh and Luke. The banter and camaraderie between them was hilarious at times but when they got the heat on, whoosh it was scorching.
Another great addition to the series and I would definitely recommend this one for sure. Four stars. 

*Copy kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Purchase Links

99c for a limited time only



I Can’t Make You Love Me – Bonnie Raitt

If You Ever What To Be In Love – James Bay

Landslide – Stevie Nicks

Say you Love Me – Jessie Ware

To Make Her Love Me – Rascal Flatts

If I Knew Then – Lady Antebellum

You Are Everything – Diana Ross

Let’s Wait Awhile – Janet Jackson

Here I am – Leona Lewis

Knocks Me Off My Feet – Stevie Wonder

Where My Heart Belongs – Gloriana

Come Rain Or Come Shine – Ray Charles

Also Available




Author Bio

USA Today bestselling author, Louise Bay writes sexy, contemporary romance novels - the kind she likes to read. Her books include the novels Faithful and Hopeful and the novella series' The Empire State Series, What the Lightning Sees and Calling Me. The novels and together the series are stand-alone although there are some overlapping characters.

Ruined by romantic mini-series of the eighties, Louise loves all things romantic. There's not enough of it in real life so she disappears into the fictional worlds in books and films.

Louise loves the rain, the West Wing, London, days when she doesn't have to wear make-up, being on her own, being with friends, elephants and champagne.

She loves to hear from readers so get in touch!

No comments:

Post a Comment